rammed earth : final photos

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I’m back in Ohio now, thousands of miles from my rammed earth sculptural wall in Sunnyvale, California.  I went back to the farm a couple days after I finished, the day before I left the state, to do some cleanup and documenting.  I was greeted by the encouraging staff of Full Circle Farm, without whom I could not have completed the project.

We all eventually made our way to the wall where I could get some good photos of the wall ‘in action.’  I thought an old professor of mine would be proud of the shelter it provided for the dog in our company.

While cleaning up, there were a few classes that came to the farm from the Middle School nearby.  Part of their curriculum includes coming to the farm to learn about the process of gardening.  I’m glad that my project can hopefully provide a space in which they gather to learn, as well as teach about natural building processes and materials.  Next to the rammed earth is a cob bench made by another volunteer earlier, as well as a cob oven nearby.  There is a lot of activities and projects within the farm, and I am glad to have been a small part of that.

Next step : graduate with my master’s degree.

*I meant to have more  step-by-step instructions about rammed earth.  As a new user and builder myself, explaining the process through my own questions, observations, and lessons learned, I thought this may aid others starting to build with rammed earth, perhaps as a supplement to other resources such as David Easton‘s literature.

Therefore, if interested, feel free to email me if you have any questions or comments.  Thank you!

Author: Meg C

Meghan is a recent Master of Architecture graduate from the University of Cincinnati. She is interested in all aspects of sustainability, finding the most pertinent ways it relates to the built environment including social justice in terms of material choice, implementation, and life-cycle. While pragmatic concerns are ever-present, she constantly explores the inexplicable beauty to be found in the intersection of order and the poetics of space.

Add to the discussion

