rammed earth i

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I am thankful to have the opportunity to experiment with my rammed earth project at Full Circle Farm in Sunnyvale, California.  This is a great place for kids and adults alike in the bay area to come and learn about how produce is grown – the healthy way.  My initial idea was to build a wall in the middle of no defined space, but I like having it in the garden area of the farm because of the opportunity to introduce an alternative/natural building method with a much larger crowd.

After visiting the farm, I started experimenting with soil sampling and testing.  I worked with cob last summer, so I am vaguely familiar with how to test the soil.  I have also work for Habitat for Humanity for a year through Americorps, which has given me experience in standard construction process, but being in charge and building a project that is new in many ways still takes time, planning, and decision-making.  Time and money are also limiting factors, though many resources are already located on the farm, to my benefit – including a soil tamper, plenty of shovels, wheelbarrows, scrap lumber, electricity, water, and a tractor.  Not to mention the support of the staff, which is worth more than I can quantify.

Author: Meg C

Meghan is a recent Master of Architecture graduate from the University of Cincinnati. She is interested in all aspects of sustainability, finding the most pertinent ways it relates to the built environment including social justice in terms of material choice, implementation, and life-cycle. While pragmatic concerns are ever-present, she constantly explores the inexplicable beauty to be found in the intersection of order and the poetics of space.

Add to the discussion

